Charleston Gate Jewelry

  • Aiken-Rhett
    Aiken-Rhett

    About the Aiken-Rhett Collection: Originally built in 1818,  the Aiken-Rhett house, after undergoing a number of  previous renovations, added the cast iron balustrade in the entrance foyer of the Elizabeth Street entrance, c. 1858. The circular detailing on the balcony of this stairway, was the inspiration for the design of our Aiken-Rhett collection.  This …

  • St. Philips Steeple
    St. Philips Steeple

    About the St. Philips Steeple Collection: This decorative filigree grille high on the steeple of St. Philips Church features a center rosette. The filigree design motif is echoed in the panels of the gates leading to the West Cemetery.         Shop the St. Philips Steeple Collection:

  • Cooper-Bee House
    Cooper-Bee House

    About the Cooper-Bee Collection: These pieces of jewelry were adapted form the knob and plate on the piazza door of the Cooper-Bee House, c. 1760. The elaborate design, originally in brass, is primarily acanthus leaves. It is unusual to find acanthus leaves clustered in a circular motif such as this …

  • Regency
    Regency

    About the Regency Collection: This design is inspired by the delicately interlaced circles found on the back of the English Regency chairs, c. 1800, owned by Governor Robert Alston, the second owner of the Nathanial Russell House.         Shop the Regency Collection:

  • Legare Street Gates
    Legare Street Gates

    About the Regency Collection: Adapted from the gates of a pre-revolutionary house on one of Charleston’s most picturesque streets.         Shop the Legare Street Collection:

  • First Baptist Church
    First Baptist Church

    About the Regency Collection: The pendant design is inspired by the original etchings in the windows of the present First Baptist Church sanctuary. The windows were installed in 1822 in the beautiful Greek-Revival structure originated by Robert Mills, the first American-born architect.         Shop the First Baptist …

  • Market Hall
    Market Hall

    About the Market Hall Collection: This design is inspired by the cast iron railing found on the balcony of Market Hall c. 1841. This building stands as the entrance into the city’s public markets, as well as The Confederate Museum, operated by The Daughters of the Confederacy.       …

  • First Scots Presbyterian Church
    First Scots Presbyterian Church

    About the First Scot Collection: The fifth oldest ecclesiastical building in the city, it has a pedimented portico which is flanked by twin, guilted towers and iron work finials. The church yard and its surroundings are enclosed with a wrought iron double gate and railing which are original to the …

  • St. Phillips Episcopal Church
    St. Phillips Episcopal Church

    About the St. Philips collection: This design is inspired by the wrought iron entry railing under the West portico of St. Philips Episcopal Church, c. 1835. It is very similar to the communion rail at St. Michael’s Church, and is believed to have been imported from England for the same …

  • St. Michael's Episcopal Church
    St. Michael’s Episcopal Church

    St. Michael’s was built on the site of the first St. Philip’s Episcopal Church and was completed, for the most part, by 1756.  As you enter the burial grounds from the west entrance, you pass through wrought iron gates with funerary urns signed, J.A.W. Lusti, c.1848.  Under the urns are …